We are +23 BIM professionals!

Join us>
Do you have any questions?

Need technical support, advice or advice?


11 minutes of reading time (2139 words)

FullBIM at Groupe GA: a French "BIM success story" - with Rémi VISIÈRE

FullBIM at Groupe GA: a French "BIM success story" - with Rémi VISIÈRE

Hello Rémi, you are R&D and Innovation Director at Groupe GA, can you tell us about your professional background?

After joining the National School of Arts and Crafts in 2005 in Talence (33), I went to complete my training as a mechanical engineer in Spain in Zaragoza, where I obtained a double degree and where my professional career began. . In 2008, I joined an SME called IASOL, specialized in turnkey industrial photovoltaic installations. I am developing a PLM process for mechanical design and manufacturing for fixing these systems to the roof.

IASOL became Teulades Solar in 2009 and became part of the Spanish construction group PRAINSA. In 2010 we opened a subsidiary in France that I managed for 2 years, during which we had the chance to work on two large-scale solar projects: the Renault factories in Flins and Sandouville, each with nearly 12 MW installed on more than 20 ha… at the end of 2011, the adventure stops. PRAINSA goes bankrupt and we are forced to close.

I bounced back, and in a few weeks I found a position of mechanical designer at GA, which I joined in February 2012. Until 2014, I was responsible for setting up a PLM process for the design and manufacture of processing modules. group air. I am also responsible for the mechanical design of these devices within a multidisciplinary team, with which we are proficient in collaborative work.

June 2014, on the strength of this experience and the BIM skills developed internally on prefabricated products, I was asked to develop and implement the FullBIM by GA process. This is the start of the adventure.

Today, a team is in place, and I took over the R&D and Innovation Department within the group.

 

How did BIM make its foray into Groupe GA? Could you tell us about the projects carried out with BIM?

We came to BIM because this process first met our needs as manufacturers. As I said previously, we had PLM experience which has been carried over to our prefab products with the Tekla Structures tool since 2008.

This complete process today includes all trades from the design office to the site, including methods and our factories. The structural model then becomes a unique database that allows us to coordinate our production and schedule our sites, while controlling quantity, costs and deadlines.

With the advent of modeling and coordination tools, and realizing the value that an “As-Built” model has for a client who is going to live in his building, we asked ourselves the following question: “if we know how to manage our industrial products in this way, why not take a step forward and manage our buildings like our industrial products? ". We are in June 2014, and it is the beginning of the story. From then on, 6 months of testing were carried out on our head office, on the tools, the processes and the calibration of the whole to arrive at a concrete, agnostic and applicable BIM protocol. At the end of 2014 we were ready to start.

In 2015, three flagship projects were launched and made it possible to test the process on a full scale, each with a different team configuration:

  • Le THALES Campus Bordeaux, which we delivered this summer.
  • I complexed him Schneider Electric T-Pole in Grenoble, which we have just delivered.
  • The future headquarters of the CCMSA, Luminem, in Bobigny, which we will deliver next April.

 

The Thales campus is a “locomotive” project at Groupe GA, could you tell us a little more about this project and how BIM has served you in concrete terms?

 

The real estate complex built by GA in Bordeaux for the Thales Group accommodates some 60 employees over 000 m². Six office buildings are erected on the site, linked together by a common ground floor aiming to promote circulation and exchange. On the service side, an entire building includes the company restaurant, a business center, the works council, a concierge, a showroom and numerous meeting rooms. All of the site's technical equipment is grouped together in a separate building. A green parking lot has 2 spaces, including 500 spaces for two-wheelers. Ultra-modern and of high environmental quality, the campus is HQE® and BREEAM certified.

The project was carried out using the FullBIM® process, developed by GA. Many modeling solutions were used there. Trimble Connect was also deployed there as a collaborative platform for the project. The principle is to connect the different companies working on the project around a single compiled TCE model in IFC format. We therefore ensure the active collaboration of each of the stakeholders, who have up-to-date information on the project in real time. The compiled model then evolves until proofing in reality to return a complete DOE BIM to the THALES client, the basis of the operation of the building.

The principle of collaboration on this project was as follows:

 

15 companies collaborated on this project and no less than 215 models were compiled and it's just awesome, what was your strategy to make this collaboration a success?

The strategy for transforming the essay was simple: get to the point. We therefore chose IFC as the standard exchange format in the process and analyzed with each company what it was able to provide. We have therefore supported them so that each can deliver models with the data in the right place and a sufficient representation of their work. The goal is for everyone to be able to integrate these constraints into their process as transparently as possible, while keeping construction as a priority. Because having a nice model and no building doesn't help much ...

Each company had its work area on Trimble Connect, and the BIM Management team was tasked with keeping the compiled model up to date, ensuring the spatial consistency and data structure of each model, and switching back all the information in a "Master Model" so that everyone can work in context on a day-to-day basis.

Below is a diagram describing this now well-established process:

 

What solutions are used by business? And the collaborative platform?

The main solutions used in business modeling :

  • Structural work, Steel frame, Locksmith: Tekla Structures
  • Front: Rhino / Grasshopper
  • Exterior Joinery: Athena
  • Technical packages: Revit (HVAC / Plumbing / CFO-CFA), Autocad Electrical (CFO / CFA terminals), Autocad MEP (Sprinklers)
  • VRD: Covadis

The solutions used for collaboration and synthesis :

  • Collaboration / Coordination: Trimble Connect
  • Synthesis support: Tekla BimSight
  • Visualization / Communication: Navisworks

 

In all your projects you have chosen to use Tekla Structures as the main solution and it is not by chance, could you tell us why?

The digital shift within Omega, BE Gros Œuvre de GA, was taken in 2008. Tekla was quickly chosen. The objective was to improve the entire internal production process, in close collaboration with the Group's prefabrication factories, by gradually switching all projects to a Digital Model base. In a few months the test was transformed.

For modeling, all the standard components of the GA range could be integrated into a single library, ranging from a simple insert to the beam profile, including reinforcement frames, in order to precisely describe each of the construction processes at the within each of the modeled structures.

For the methods, each building modeled constitutes a complete database to feed the production process in the factory. The planning of each component is integrated (release dates, manufacture, delivery, factory allocation, etc.), and the link between BE and factory is direct. The opening of Tekla has indeed enabled the development of specific macros between the model and the production management tools, making the information unique and ensuring bidirectionality between the project teams and the companions in the workshop. The management of site equipment (shoring, crane tracks, etc.), the occupation of tools in the workshop and the programming of steel bending machines are under study and / or in the process of being deployed.

For the execution, Tekla, because of its openness and the quality of its IFC exports, allows maximum interoperability with other trades during the synthesis and the realization, by reaching a high level of maturity of BIM .

 

Industrialization and prefabrication are at the heart of the company's DNA, how does BIM help you in your approach?

Tekla's major interest was being able to control factory production directly from the information entered into the models during the design phase. In addition to being able to communicate the model with internal production monitoring tools, 3D provides quality visual support for the understanding of the tasks to be carried out in the workshop by the journeymen. Each of the edited plans includes a perspective visual of the component to be manufactured, and its digital counterpart that can be viewed on screen. Result: fewer errors and better control of the materials used

 

What is the impact of the digital model on the site and the progress of the work?

The use of the Digital Model had a significant impact on meeting deadlines and the quality of the works. The integration of the Works teams into the FullBIM® process made it possible to define a complete support protocol for the synthesis and production by the BIM Management team. In addition to targeting the information to be fed back as needed, the BIM teams have accelerated their decision-making by greatly reducing the risks of non-quality, especially in complex technical areas.

The contribution of 4D via Tekla led the participants to rethink their way of monitoring the progress of the project, by having the possibility of accessing relevant information in any circumstance. In other words, where we edited plans manually informed on the progress of the studies / execution, today the tool is able to do it for us in a much more visual way and in real time. . The possibility of filtering the visible elements according to the date is a real plus, because at a glance we can detect an anomaly in the supply and the realization of the works.

 

What about the operation phase? Do you use augmented reality in your projects?

The operation phase is still not very mature. Many requests are made to us without apparent consistency from one project to another. On the other hand, we are convinced that the value of BIM lies here: We design a building in a few months, we build it in a few months or years depending on its size, but above all we live there for several decades! So having a reliable operating data source as soon as the keys are handed over rather than a pile of paper that will languish in an archive room… that changes the game!

We therefore propose a packaged BIM DOE, based on the association of native models and extracted in IFC with a library of flat files, stored on Trimble Connect. This open support can therefore be used for the development of operating solutions.

Augmented reality comes to shake up the established order, and will allow tomorrow to navigate in a building, literally by "seeing through the walls" and by being able to interact with the virtual environment in context to access relevant data for the current operation. We are actively working on it, even going beyond the scope of BIM.

 

You are in charge of R&D and innovation at Groupe GA, what are your major areas of development in addition to BIM?

R&D and innovation today address a large number of subjects at GA. Constructive processes, products, services, processes… thanks to new technologies (IOT, BIM…) all lines are moving at a frantic pace and we need to be able to respond to very diverse and numerous issues, while keeping a clear vision. long term giving us a head start.

Some examples :

  • Functionalization of concrete in our processes. The products no longer only have a role of structure and facing, they become active in interior environments, integrate technology to provide service ...
  • Functionalization of facades. Deploy all the comfort systems on the facade to minimize network impacts in buildings, reduce storey heights and give maximum added value to zones in 1er day…
  • Services to the occupant.
  • [...]

 

What advice would you give to people working on projects from design to management?

Free your chakras, and believe in new technologies! They are not there to slow you down but to increase your productivity by focusing on the essentials.

 

One last word ?

BIM can be a real common thread for all trades related to construction. The future of our industry depends on its acceptance. So go for it!

 


Do you have any questions for Rémi? Ask them by commenting below!

4

On the same subject:

 

comments (0)

No comments yet, be the first to comment!

add a comment

  1. (Guest mode)
Attachments (0 / 5)
Share your location
Type the text shown in the image below. Not clear?

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.hexabim.com/

Discover our services

recruitment

Your career at N&Co

More Information

communication

Communication

More Information

Advertising

Training

More Information

Hexabim

Log in

Visionner les web-conférences HEXABIM

Nous sommes +16 000 professionnels du BIM !

Rejoignez-nous >
Vous avez une question ?

Besoin de support technique, d'un avis ou un conseil ?


11 minutes de temps de lecture (2139 mots)

Le FullBIM chez Groupe GA : une "success BIM story" à la Française - avec Rémi VISIÈRE

Le FullBIM chez Groupe GA : une "success BIM story" à la Française - avec Rémi VISIÈRE

Bonjour Rémi, vous êtes Directeur R&D et Innovation chez Groupe GA, pouvez-vous nous parler de votre parcours professionnel ?

Après avoir intégré l’Ecole Nationale d’Arts et Métiers en 2005 à Talence (33), je suis parti parfaire ma formation d’ingénieur mécanique en Espagne à Saragosse, où j’ai obtenu un double diplôme et où a commencé mon parcours professionnel. En 2008, j’intègre une PME dénommée IASOL, spécialisée dans les installations photovoltaïques industrielles clé-en-main. J’y développe un process PLM de conception mécanique et de fabrication pour la fixation de ces systèmes en toiture.

IASOL devient Teulades Solar en 2009 et passe sous le giron du groupe de construction espagnol PRAINSA. En 2010 nous ouvrons une filiale en France que je dirige pendant 2 ans, durant lesquels nous avons eu la chance d’intervenir sur deux chantiers solaires d’envergure : les usines Renault de Flins et Sandouville, avec pour chacune près de 12 MW installés sur plus de 20 ha… fin 2011, l’aventure s’arrète. PRAINSA fait faillite et nous sommes contraints de fermer.

Je rebondis, et en quelques semaines je trouve un poste de concepteur mécanique chez GA, que j’intègre en février 2012. Jusqu’en 2014, je suis chargé de mettre en place un process PLM pour la conception et la fabrication des modules de traitement d’air du groupe. J’assure également la conception mécanique de ces appareils au sein d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire, avec laquelle nous nous rodons au travail collaboratif.

Juin 2014, fort de cette expérience et d’une compétence BIM développée en interne sur les produits préfa béton, on me propose de développer et mettre en place le process FullBIM by GA. C’est le début de l’aventure.

Aujourd’hui, une équipe est en place, et j’ai repris la Direction de la R&D et de l’Innovation au sein du groupe.

 

Comment le BIM a-t-il fait son incursion chez Groupe GA ? Pourriez-vous nous citer les projets réalisés avec le BIM ?

Nous sommes venus au BIM parce que ce process répondait d’abord à nos besoins d’industriels. Comme je le disais précédemment, nous avions une expérience PLM qui a été reconduite sur nos produits préfa avec l’outil Tekla Structures depuis 2008.

Ce process complet intègre aujourd’hui tous les métiers depuis le BE jusqu’au chantier en passant par les méthodes et nos usines. La maquette structure devient alors une base de données unique qui nous permet de coordonner nos fabrications et de cadencer nos chantiers, en maitrisant quantité, coûts et délais.

Avec l’avènement des outils de modélisation et de coordination, et en se rendant compte de la valeur qu’a une maquette « As-Built » pour un client qui va vivre dans son batiment, nous nous sommes posé la question suivante : « si nous savons gérer nos produits industriels de cette manière, pourquoi ne pas franchir un cap et gérer nos bâtiments comme nos produits industriels ? ». Nous sommes en juin 2014, et c’est le début de l’histoire. Dès lors, 6 mois de test ont été menés sur notre siège, sur les outils, les process et la calibration de l’ensemble pour aboutir à un protocole BIM concret, agnostique et applicable. Fin 2014 nous étions prêts à démarrer.

En 2015, trois projets phares ont été lancés et ont permis de tester le process à échelle réelle, chacun avec une configuration d’équipe différente :

  • Le Campus THALES Bordeaux, que nous avons livré cet été.
  • Le complexe T-Pôle de Schneider Electric à Grenoble, que nous venons de livrer.
  • Le futur siège de la CCMSA, Luminem, à Bobigny, que nous livrerons en avril prochain.

 

Le campus Thales est un projet « locomotive » chez Groupe GA, pourriez-vous nous dire un peu plus sur ce projet et en quoi le BIM vous a servi concrètement ?

 

L’ensemble immobilier réalisé par GA à Bordeaux pour le Groupe Thales accueille sur 60 000 m² quelque 2 500 collaborateurs. Le site voit se dresser six immeubles de bureaux, reliés entre eux par un rez-de-chaussée commun visant à favoriser la circulation et l’échange. Côté service, un immeuble entier intègre le restaurant d’entreprise, un business center, le comité d’entreprise, une conciergerie, un showroom et de nombreuses salles de réunions. L’ensemble des équipements techniques du site est regroupé dans un bâtiment à part. Un parc de stationnement végétalisé comprend 1 850 places dont 150 places pour les deux roues. Ultra-moderne et de haute qualité environnementale, le campus est certifié HQE® et BREEAM.

Le projet a été réalisé à l’aide du process FullBIM®, développé par GA. De nombreuses solutions de modélisation y ont été utilisées. Par ailleurs Trimble Connect y a été déployé comme plateforme collaborative du projet. Le principe est de mettre en relation les différentes entreprises travaillant sur le projet autour d’une maquette compilée TCE unique au format IFC. On assure dès lors la collaboration active de chacun des intervenants, qui disposent en temps réel des informations à jour du projet. La maquette compilée évolue dès lors jusqu’au récolement au réel pour restituer un DOE BIM complet au maître d’ouvrage THALES, socle de l’exploitation du bâtiment.

Le principe de collaboration sur ce projet a été le suivant :

 

15 entreprises ont collaboré sur ce projet et pas moins de 215 modèles ont été compilés et c’est juste impressionnant, quelle était votre stratégie pour réussir cette collaboration ?

La stratégie pour transformer l’essai était simple : aller à l’essentiel. Nous avons dès lors choisi l’IFC comme format d’échange standard dans le process et analysé avec chaque entreprise ce qu’elle était en mesure de fournir. Nous les avons dès lors accompagnées pour que chacune puisse livrer des modèles ayant les données au bon endroit et une représentation suffisante de leur ouvrage. Le but étant que chacun puisse intégrer ces contraintes à son process de la manière la plus transparente possible, en conservant la construction comme priorité. Parce qu’avoir une belle maquette et pas de bâtiment, ça ne sert pas à grand-chose…

Chaque entreprise avait sa zone de travail sur Trimble Connect, et l’équipe de BIM Management avait pour mission de tenir à jour le modèle compilé, s’assurer de la cohérence spatiale et de la structure de données de chacun des modèles, et de rebasculer toute l’information dans un « Master Model » pour que chacun puisse travailler en contexte au jour le jour.

Ci-après un schéma décrivant ce process aujourd’hui rodé :

 

Quelles sont les solutions utilisées par métier ? Et la plateforme collaborative ?

Les principales solutions utilisées en modélisation par métier :

  • Structure Gros-Œuvre, Charpente métallique, Serrurerie : Tekla Structures
  • Façade : Rhino/Grasshopper
  • Menuiserie Extérieures : Athena
  • Lots techniques : Revit (CVC/Plomberie/CFO-CFA), Autocad Electrical (Terminaux CFO/CFA), Autocad MEP (Sprinklers)
  • VRD : Covadis

Les solutions utilisées pour la collaboration et la synthèse :

  • Collaboration/Coordination : Trimble Connect
  • Support à la synthèse : Tekla BimSight
  • Visualisation/Communication : Navisworks

 

Dans tous vos projets vous avez fait le choix d’utiliser Tekla Structures comme solution principal et ce n’est pas par hasard, pourriez-vous nous dire pourquoi ?

Le virage du numérique au sein d’Omega, BE Gros Œuvre de GA, a été pris dès 2008. Le choix de Tekla s’est rapidement imposé. L’objectif était d’améliorer l’ensemble du process interne de production, en lien étroit avec les usines de préfabrication du Groupe, en basculant progressivement tous les projets sur une base Maquette Numérique. En quelques mois l’essai a été transformé.

Pour la modélisation, l’ensemble des composants standards de la gamme GA a pu être intégré à une bibliothèque unique, en allant du simple insert au profil de poutre, en passant par les cadres de ferraillage, afin de décrire précisément chacun des procédés constructifs au sein de chacun des ouvrages modélisés.

Pour les méthodes, chaque bâtiment modélisé constitue une base de données complète pour alimenter le process productif en usine. La planification de chaque composant est intégrée (dates de diffusion, fabrication, livraison, attribution d’usine…), et le lien entre BE et usine est direct. L’ouverture de Tekla a en effet permis le développement de macros spécifiques entre la maquette et les outils de gestion de production, rendant l’information unique et assurant la bidirectionnalité entre les équipes projet et les compagnons à l’atelier. La gestion du matériel de chantier (étaiements, voies de grues…), l’occupation des outillages en atelier et la programmation des machines de cintrage d’acier sont à l’étude et/ou en cours de déploiement.

Pour l’exécution, Tekla, du fait de son ouverture et de la qualité de ses exports IFC, permet une interopérabilité maximale avec les autres corps d’états lors de la synthèse et de la réalisation, en atteignant un niveau de maturité élevé du BIM.

 

L’industrialisation et la préfabrication sont au cœur de l’ADN de l’entreprise, comment le BIM vous aidé dans votre démarche ?

L’intérêt majeur de Tekla a été de pouvoir piloter la production en usine directement à partir des informations entrées dans les modèles pendant la phase d’études. Outre le fait de pouvoir faire communiquer la maquette avec les outils internes de suivi de production, la 3D apporte un support visuel de qualité à la compréhension des tâches à réaliser en atelier par les compagnons. Chacun des plans édités comporte un visuel en perspective du composant à fabriquer, et son pendant numérique visualisable sur écran. Résultat : moins d’erreurs et une meilleure maîtrise des matériaux mis en œuvre

 

Quel est l’impact de la maquette numérique sur le chantier et l’avancement des travaux ?

L’utilisation de la Maquette Numérique a eu un impact non négligeable sur la tenue des délais et la qualité des ouvrages. L’intégration des équipes Travaux au process FullBIM® a permis de définir un protocole complet de support à la synthèse et à la réalisation par l’équipe de BIM Management. Outre le fait de cibler les informations à remonter en fonction des besoins, les équipes BIMées ont accéléré leurs prises de décisions en réduisant fortement les risques de non qualité, notamment dans les zones techniques complexes.

L’apport de la 4D via Tekla a conduit les intervenants à repenser leur manière de suivre l’avancement du projet, en ayant la possibilité d’accéder à une information pertinente en toute circonstance. En d’autres termes, là où l’on éditait des plans renseignés manuellement sur l’avancement des études/de l’exécution, aujourd’hui l’outil est capable de le faire pour nous de manière beaucoup plus visuelle et en temps réel. La possibilité de filtrer les éléments visibles en fonction de la date y est un vrai plus, car en un coup d’œil on peut détecter une anomalie dans l’approvisionnement et la réalisation des ouvrages.

 

Qu'en est-il de la phase exploitation ? Servez-vous de la réalité augmentée dans vos projets ?

La phase exploitation est encore peu mature. De nombreuses demandes nous sont formulées sans cohérence apparente d’un projet à l’autre. En revanche nous sommes convaincus que la valeur du BIM se situe ici : On conçoit un bâtiment en quelques mois, on le construit en quelques mois ou années fonction de sa taille, mais surtout on y vit pendant plusieurs dizaines d’années ! Donc avoir une source de données d’exploitation fiable dès la remise des clés plutôt qu’une pile de papier qui va croupir dans un local d’archive… ça change la donne !

Nous proposons donc un DOE BIM packagé, basé sur l’association de modèles natifs et extraits en IFC avec une bibliothèque de fichiers plats, stocké sur Trimble Connect. Ce support ouvert peut dès lors servir au développement de solutions d’exploitation.

La réalité augmentée vient bousculer l’ordre établi, et permettra demain de naviguer dans un bâtiment, littéralement en « voyant à travers les murs » et en étant capable d’interagir avec l’environnement virtuel en contexte pour accéder à de la donnée pertinente pour l’opération en cours. Nous y travaillons activement, en sortant même du cadre du BIM.

 

Vous êtes en charge de la R&D et de l’innovation chez Groupe GA, quelles sont vos axes de développement majeurs en plus du BIM ?

La R&D et l’innovation adressent aujourd’hui de très nombreux sujets chez GA. Procédés constructifs, produits, services, process… grâce aux nouvelles technologies (IOT, BIM…) toutes les lignes bougent à un rythme effréné et il nous faut être en capacité à répondre à des problématiques très diverses et nombreuses, tout en gardant une vision à long terme nous donnant une longueur d’avance.

Quelques exemples :

  • Fonctionnalisation du béton dans nos procédés. Les produits n’ont plus seulement un rôle de structure et de parement, ils deviennent actif envers les ambiances intérieures, intègrent de la technologie pour donner du service…
  • Fonctionnalisation des façades. Déporter l’intégralité des systèmes de confort sur la façade pour minimiser les impacts réseaux dans les bâtiments, réduire les hauteurs d’étages et donner un maximum de valeur ajoutée aux zones en 1er jour…
  • Services à l’occupant.
  • […]

 

Quels conseils donneriez-vous aux personnes travaillant sur des projets de la phase conception jusqu’à la gestion ?

Libérez vos chakras, et croyez aux nouvelles technologies ! Elles ne sont pas là pour vous freiner mais pour vous faire gagner en productivité en vous concentrant sur l’essentiel.

 

Un dernier mot ?

Le BIM peut être un vrai fil rouge pour tous les métiers liés à la construction. De son acceptation dépend l’avenir de notre filière. Alors Foncez !

 


Vous avez des questions à Rémi ? Posez-les en commentant ci-dessous !

4

Sur le même sujet:

 

Commentaires (0)

Pas de commentaires pour l'instant, soyez le premier à commenter !

Ajouter un commentaire

  1. (Mode invité)
Pièces jointes (0 / 5)
Partager votre emplacement
Tapez le texte présenté dans l'image ci-dessous. Pas clair?

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.hexabim.com/

Vous avez une question ?

Besoin de support technique, d'un avis ou un conseil ?


REJOIGNEZ +10.000 ADHERENTS !

Pas encore adhérent au réseau HEXABIM ? Plus de 10 000 professionnels ont rejoint la plateforme pour s'informer, apprendre et échanger autour du BIM et de la transition numérique.

L'adhésion est totalement gratuite, il suffit de demander votre invitation ci-après pour vous inscrire et accéder par la suite à toutes les ressources de la plateforme !

Découvrez les services Hexabim

recrutement

Recrutement

En savoir plus

Publicité

Publicité

En savoir plus

communication

Communication

En savoir plus

Hexabim

Se connecter