We are +23 BIM professionals!

Join us>
Do you have any questions?

Need technical support, advice or advice?


7 minutes of reading time (1365 words)

Let's talk about BIM! with Emmanuel Di Giacomo from “Autodesk”, architect but not only!

Let's talk about BIM! with Emmanuel Di Giacomo from “Autodesk”, architect but not only!

Emmanuel Di Giacomo, that sounds Italian! We have the grandson of Salvatore Di Giacomo, the famous Italian poet !?

Yes, it is of Italian origin indeed, and the other half is French :) I am not the grandson of Salvatore, nor of Franco, the famous film photographer. Just a distant cousin of Alan Stivell from my Breton origins.

And you have decided to become an architect! How was the start of your career?

Originally, at 14, I wanted to be an automotive designer because I was passionate about this job and I was already drawing a lot. Then I very quickly opted for Architecture because I felt a stronger affinity for this fascinating profession. I was fortunate to be a student of Paul Maymont, founder of UP7 and Grand Utopiste of the 60s who designed cities on water for Japan and the Paris of the future, underground to facilitate circulation. I worked in an agency then, the passion for 3D helping, I turned to Software Edition.

How did you endure the switch from the good old drawing board to CAD? Were you started with AutoCAD? Which version ?

I experienced it very naturally because I went from high school, where I had learned to use rotrings, to the School of Architecture with the transition to intelligent 3D applications for Architects on Mac like ZOOM d'Abvent, and Architrion. I was with a few friends and colleagues, one of the gifted and fanatical Architrion in France! I never used AutoCAD, even though I saw it arrive in the lab, but I always insisted on working on "Business" applications like Architrion and Autodesk Revit. AutoCAD has never failed me so :)

You've been at Autodesk for more than 12 years, the atmosphere in this company must be great, what do you do during your days?

Autodesk is indeed a great company with thousands of amazing and exciting people and a technological advance that makes you dream… I am extremely proud to be a part of it. 12 years is indeed a long time and I had the chance to take on several different roles. I joined AEC Marketing Manager and had the happiness and the good fortune to launch Revit in France. It was my "Baby" that I pampered during his first years, he had to because there was a lot of resistance against die-hard ADT fans who thought Revit would never supplant him. I then took care of our important Customers in Europe for more than 6 years as Product Manager and Methodology Manager to help them move from CAD to BIM. I had the honor and the happiness to take care of Agencies like Zaha Hadid, Brunet Saunier Architecture, Piero Lissoni and many others.

My days ? I do not see them pass J I am very often on the move in the world, in Europe, in France, I handle an endless stream of emails, take care of my blog ABCD Blog, participate in many internal meetings, or in external meetings with organizations such as buildingSMART, FFB, I train schools and high schools, I participate in BIM conventions around the world, at Autodesk University, etc. I often end my days around ... 2 a.m. :)


You arrived in the world of BIM several years ago, were you aware that the construction world was going to restructure around BIM?

I often say that I have been working in 26D with software for Architecture for more than 3 years and that it has always seemed natural and obvious to me! The arrival of certain 2D software was for me a methodological and intellectual regression in the face of these innovative technologies. I have always been convinced that 3D and what is now called BIM would come back to win and take over the entire construction industry! It could not be otherwise. I am often seen as a staunch supporter of BIM and Revit, even internally.

How will you see the construction in 10 years? Will it always be BIM?

In 10 years ? I don't know if we will still be talking about BIM or a new concept, but I think that given the speed at which technologies are going, we will perhaps have buildings endowed with an artificial intelligence, a heart, a a soul which will have been conceived and integrated from their birth by computers of a power still unknown to us. Perhaps we will have buildings which will be created on the basis of cells and virtues that will be assigned to them and which will develop according to the environment in which they are positioned. An even more advanced concept than the "Flux" technology that you have no doubt heard of ...


You are the initiator of several fairly well-known sites in the BIM world, in particular ABCD blog, there you can find the latest BIM news, It's a job in its own right! What can you tell us about?

I was indeed at the origin of Village BIM first, as a moderator and strong contributor 4 years ago. Its success cannot be denied and I am happy to have left it with more than 500 visits per day, because I put a lot of energy and passion into it. I then wanted to launch a less technical and more oriented blog, BIM, Architecture and Conceptual Design which talks more about what is currently happening in the world around BIM, trends, projects, events, standards, regulations , Customers, etc. I manage it alone because I can thus respect an editorial line which is specific to me and to which I stick. I also put a lot of energy, time and passion into it because it requires daily monitoring. I also try to relay many messages and events from our Partners, whoever they are, but above all I try to relay what is happening in the construction industry.


Utopic City on facebook, more than 96.000 fans! Are you going to uncork champagne for your 100.000th fan?

Ah, Revit Utopic City is also my favorite Baby because it first of all conveys an idea and a concept that has been dear to me since I was 15 and the discovery of the Italian Futurists: Utopia which was also revealed to me and amplified. by my Master Paul Maymont, himself a pupil of Auguste Perret. Then it is Italy, dear to my heart because it is on the basis of Rome for Utopic City I that I created the first city, then Milan for Utopic City II that you see now. I would like to thank from the bottom of my heart all my Fans who made it possible for me to reach 96100 Likes, which I never imagined when I launched my city a few years ago. I hope to get to 100, that would be fantastic! Why not indeed uncork the champagne or give a nice gift to the 000th Fan :) But there is still a long way to go and I'm always afraid of getting bored of my Fans :)


You were among the first members who joined hexaBIM, how did you find this site? Are they different from others? We are convinced that you are a visionary Emmanuel, that what hexaBIM can become or bring to the world of BIM in the near future?

I discovered hexaBIM and you Mohamed through one of my Colleagues! It's a great blog, very lively, different because it is participatory and we do not practice the language of wood, it's great! You are pragmatic, efficient and very professional and it is full of very interesting information. You are already essential in France and I wish you to become the technico-methodological hub of BIM in France!


A word for the hexaBIM community?

Bravo to Mohamed, bravo to hexaBIM and his Community, continue this beautiful path that you have started to trace, you will be a hit for sure, because you too, it is the Passion that drives you!

A big thank you to you Emmanuel for taking the time to answer my many questions, I think that there are a lot of things that you will make us discover following this article, we tell you looking forward to reading you!

Don't hesitate if you have any questions for Emmanuel, I'm sure he'll be there.

6

On the same subject:

 

comments (0)

No comments yet, be the first to comment!

add a comment

  1. (Guest mode)
Attachments (0 / 5)
Share your location
Type the text shown in the image below. Not clear?

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.hexabim.com/

Discover our services

recruitment

Your career at N&Co

More Information

communication

Communication

More Information

Advertising

Training

More Information

Hexabim

Log in

Visionner les web-conférences HEXABIM

Nous sommes +16 000 professionnels du BIM !

Rejoignez-nous >
Vous avez une question ?

Besoin de support technique, d'un avis ou un conseil ?


7 minutes de temps de lecture (1365 mots)

Parlons BIM! avec Emmanuel Di Giacomo de “Autodesk”, architecte mais pas seulement !

Parlons BIM! avec Emmanuel Di Giacomo de “Autodesk”, architecte mais pas seulement !

Emmanuel Di Giacomo, ça sonnes Italien ! Nous avons au petit fils de Salvatore Di Giacomo, le célèbre poète Italien !?

Oui, c’est d’origine italienne effectivement, et l’autre moitié est française :) Je ne suis pas le petit-fils de Salvatore, ni de Franco, le célèbre photographe de cinéma. Juste un cousin éloigné d’Alan Stivell de par mes origines bretonnes.

Et vous avez décidé de faire architecte ! Comment ça était le début de votre carrière ?

A l’origine, à 14 ans, je voulais être Designer automobile car ce métier me passionnait et je dessinais déjà beaucoup. Puis j’ai très vite opté pour l’Architecture car j’ai préssenti une plus forte affinité pour ce métier passionnant. J’ai eu la chance d’être un élève de Paul Maymont, fondateur d’UP7 et Grand Utopiste des années 60 ayant conçu des villes sur l’eau pour le Japon et le Paris du futur, souterrain pour faciliter les circulations. J’ai travaillé en agence puis, la passion pour la 3D aidant, je me suis orienté vers l’Edition logicielle.

Comment avez-vous subit le passage de la bonne vieille table à dessin à la CAO ? Vos débuts étaient sous AutoCAD ? Quelle version ?

Je l’ai vécu très naturellement car je suis passé du lycée, où j’avais appris à utiliser les rotrings, à l’Ecole d’Architecture avec le passage à des applications intelligentes 3D pour Architectes sur Mac comme ZOOM d’Abvent, et Architrion. J’étais avec quelques amis et collègues, l’un des surdoués et mordus d’Architrion en France ! Je n’ai jamais utilisé AutoCAD, même si je l’ai vu arrivé au laboratoire mais j’ai toujours insisté pour travailler sur des applications « Métiers » comme Architrion et Autodesk Revit. AutoCAD ne m’a jamais donc manqué :)

Ca fait plus que 12 ans que vous êtes chez Autodesk, ça doit être formidable l'ambiance dans cette entreprise, que ce que vous faites durant vos journées ?

Autodesk est effectivement une Entreprise formidable avec des milliers de personnes extraordinaires et passionnantes et une avance technologique qui fait rêver… Je suis extrêmement fier d’en faire partie. 12 ans c’est en effet long et j’ai eu la chance d’assumer plusieurs rôle différents. Je suis entré comme Responsable Marketing AEC et j’ai eu le bonheur et la chance de lancer Revit en France. C’était mon « Bébé » que j’ai choyé pendant ses première années, il le fallait car il y avait beaucoup de résistance face aux irréductibles fans d’ADT qui pensaient que Revit ne le supplanterait jamais. Je me suis ensuite occupé de nos Clients importants en Europe pendant plus de 6 ans en tant que Product Manager et Responsable Méthodologique pour les aider à passer de la CAO au BIM. J’ai eu l’honneur et le bonheur de m’occuper d’Agences comme Zaha Hadid, Brunet Saunier Architecture, Piero Lissoni et bien d’autres.

Mes journées ? Je ne les vois pas passer J Je suis bien souvent en déplacement dans le monde, en Europe, en France, je traite un flot d’emails sans fin, m’occupe de mon blog ABCD Blog, participe à de nombreuses réunions internes, ou à des réunions externes avec des organisations du type buildingSMART, FFB, je forme les Ecoles et lycées, je participe à des conventions BIM dans le monde, aux Autodesk University, etc. Je finis souvent mes journées vers…2h du matin :)


Vous êtes arrivé dans l'univers du BIM il y a plusieurs années, étiez-vous conscient que le monde de la construction allait se restructurer autour du BIM ?

Je dis souvent que cela fait plus de 26 ans que je travaille en 3D avec des logiciels pour l’Architecture et que cela m’a paru toujours naturel et évident ! L’arrivée de certains logiciels 2D a été pour moi une régression méthodologique et intellectuelle face à ces technologies innovantes. J’ai toujours été convaincu que la 3D et ce qu’on appelle dorénavant le BIM reviendrait pour gagner et emporter toute l’Industrie du BTP ! Il ne pouvait en être autrement. Je suis souvent d’ailleurs perçu comme un farouche supporter du BIM et de Revit, même en interne.

Comment verrez-vous la construction dans 10 ans ? Se sera toujours du BIM ?

Dans 10 ans ? Je ne sais pas si on parlera encore de BIM ou d’un nouveau concept mais je pense que vu la vitesse à laquelle vont les technologies, nous aurons peut-être des bâtiments doués d’une intelligence artificielle, d’un cœur, d’une âme qui aura été conçue et intégrée dès leurs naissance par des ordinateurs d’une puissance encore inconnue pour nous. Peut-être aurons-nous des bâtiments qui se créeront sur la base de cellules et de vertus qu’on leur affectera et qui se développeront en fonction de l’environnement où ils seront positionnés. Un concept encore plus poussé que la technologie « Flux » dont vous avez sans doute entendu parler…


Vous êtes à l'initiative de plusieurs sites assez connus dans le monde du BIM, notamment ABCD blog, on y trouve les dernières actualités du BIM, C'est un travail à part entière ! Que ce que vous pouvez nous dire à propos ?

J’ai en effet été à l’origine tout d’abord de Village BIM, en tant que modérateur et fort contributeur il y a 4 ans. Son succès ne se dément plus et je suis heureux de l’avoir laissé avec plus de 500 visites par jours, car j’y ai mis beaucoup d’énergie et de passion. J’ai voulu ensuite lancé un blog moins technique et plus orienté, BIM, Architecture et Conceptual Design qui parle plus de ce qui se passe actuellement dans le monde autour du BIM, les tendances, les projets, les évènements, les standards, les règlementations, les Clients, etc. Je le gère seul car je peux ainsi respecter une ligne éditoriale qui m’est propre et à laquelle je me tiens. J’y mets aussi beaucoup d’énergie, de temps et de passion car cela nécessite une veille quotidienne. J’essaye aussi d’y relayer de nombreux messages, évènements de nos Partenaires quels qu’ils soient mais j’essaye surtout de relayer ce qui bouge dans l’Industrie du BTP.


Utopic City sur facebook, plus de 96.000 fans ! Vous allez débouchez du champagne pour votre 100.000ème fan ?

Ah, Revit Utopic City est aussi mon Bébé préféré car il véhicule tout d’abord une idée et un concept qui m’est cher depuis mes 15 ans et la découverte des Futuristes italiens : l’Utopie qui m’a aussi été révélée et amplifiée par mon Maître Paul Maymont, élève lui-même d’Auguste Perret. Puis c’est ensuite l’Italie, chère à mon Cœur car c’est sur la base de Rome pour Utopic City I que j’ai créé la première ville, puis Milan pour Utopic City II que vous voyez actuellement. Je remercie du fond du cœur tous mes Fans qui m’ont permis d’arriver à 96100 Likes, ce que je n’aurais jamais imaginé en lançant ma ville il y a quelques années. J’espère arriver à 100 000, ce serait fantastique ! Pourquoi pas en effet déboucher le champagne ou faire gagner un beau cadeau au 100 000ème Fan :) Mais la route est encore longue et j’ai toujours peur de finir par lasser mes Fans :)


Vous étiez parmi les premiers membres qui ont rejoint hexaBIM, comment vous avez trouvé ce site ? Est-il différents des autres ? Nous sommes convaincu que vous êtes visionnaire Emmanuel, que ce que hexaBIM peut devenir ou apporter au monde du BIM dans un futur proche ?

J’ai découvert hexaBIM et vous Mohamed par l’un de mes Collègues ! C’est un super blog, très vivant, différent car il est participatif et on y pratique pas la langue de bois, c’est super ! Vous êtes pragmatiques, efficaces et très pros et il regorge d’informations très intéressantes. Vous êtes d’ores et déjà incontournables en France et je vous souhaite de devenir le Hub technico-méthodologique du BIM en France !


Un mot pour la communauté hexaBIM ?

Bravo à Mohamed, bravo à hexaBIM et à sa Communauté, continuez ce beau chemin que vous avez commencé à tracer, vous allez faire un carton c’est sûr, car vous aussi, c’est la Passion qui vous anime !

Un grand merci à toi Emmanuel d'avoir pris le temps de répondre à mes nombreuses questions, je pense qu'il y a pas mal de choses que tu va nous faire découvrir suite à cet article, on te dit au plaisir de te lire !

N'hésitez pas si vous avez des questions à poser à Emmanuel, je suis sûr qu'il sera au rdv.

6

Sur le même sujet:

 

Commentaires (0)

Pas de commentaires pour l'instant, soyez le premier à commenter !

Ajouter un commentaire

  1. (Mode invité)
Pièces jointes (0 / 5)
Partager votre emplacement
Tapez le texte présenté dans l'image ci-dessous. Pas clair?

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.hexabim.com/

Vous avez une question ?

Besoin de support technique, d'un avis ou un conseil ?


REJOIGNEZ +10.000 ADHERENTS !

Pas encore adhérent au réseau HEXABIM ? Plus de 10 000 professionnels ont rejoint la plateforme pour s'informer, apprendre et échanger autour du BIM et de la transition numérique.

L'adhésion est totalement gratuite, il suffit de demander votre invitation ci-après pour vous inscrire et accéder par la suite à toutes les ressources de la plateforme !

Découvrez les services Hexabim

recrutement

Recrutement

En savoir plus

Publicité

Publicité

En savoir plus

communication

Communication

En savoir plus

Hexabim

Se connecter